JAZZGate

JAZZGate is a series of jazz concerts which I curate and perform on in The Black Gate Galway. The series pays tribute to the greatest jazz artists and composers of all time, as well as featuring local and visiting musicians – celebrating the absolute cream of the Irish Jazz scene.

Subscribe here to get an occasional email
about upcoming concerts.

UNFORTUNATELY ALL
JAZZGATE SHOWS ARE NOW POSTPONED UNTIL FURTHER NOTICE,
DUE TO GOVERNMENT restrictions AROUND THE COVID-19 VIRUS


To date, JAZZGate has featured the absolute finest players from around the Irish Jazz scene:

Emilie Conway, Suzanne Savage, Barbara Vulso, Róisín Mulliez, Sarah O’Toole, Bill Blackmore, Colm O’Hara, Cathal Roche, Matthew Berrill, Sam Comerford, Mike Nielsen, Tommy Halferty, Naomi Berrill, Greg Felton, Izumi Kimura, Scott Flanigan, John Donegan (UK), Éanna Ryder, Ger Madden, Dan Bodwell, Neil O’Loclainn, Derek Whyte, Cormac O’Brien, Charlie Foley, John O’Dwyer, Paul O’Driscoll, Dan Walsh, Matthew Jacobson, Sean Carpio, Kevin Brady, Barry Duffy, Miki Belton, Szymon Mizniak, Phil McMullan, Terry Cooke, John Daly, Conor Murray.


PAST EVENTS

 

JAZZGate SPRING 2020 Season

Thursday March 5
The Music of Keith Jarrett
feat. John Donegan, UK (piano)

Thursday February 27
The Music of Billie Holiday
feat. Emilie Conway  (vocals)

Thursday February 20
The Music of Paul Motian
feat. Dan Walsh (drums)

Thursday February 13
The Music of Lester Young
feat. Sam Comerford (sax)

Thursday February 6
The music of Cole Porter
feat. Mike Nielsen (gtr.)

Thursday January 23
The Music of Nina Simone
feat. Barbara Vulso (vocals)

Thursday January 16
The Music of Stan Getz
feat. Matthew Berrill (sax)

Thursday January 9
The music of Charlie Parker
feat. Bertrand Huve (sax)

JAZZGate Autumn / Winter 2019 Season

Thursday December 19
‘A JAZZGate Christmas’
feat. special guest Sarah O’ Toole (vocals)

Thursday December 12
The Music of Chet Baker
feat. special guests Paul O’ Driscoll (vocals, bass) & Bill Blackmore (trumpet)

Thursday December 7
Clarinet in Jazz (Benny Goodman/Sidney Bechet)
feat. special guest Matthew Berrill (clarinet)

Thursday November 28
The Music of Carla Bley
feat. special guest Izumi Kimura (piano)

Saturday November 16
The Music of Joni Mitchell
feat. special guest Suzanne Savage (vocals)

Thursday November 7
The Music of Bill Evans
feat. special guest John Donegan, UK (piano)

Saturday November 2
JAZZGate ‘Halloweekend’: Vocal night feat. Róisín Mulliez
feat. five-piece band of Ireland’s finest musicians
Tickets €15

Friday November 1 *(late start – 10pm)
JAZZGate ‘Halloweekend’: New Orleans theme
feat. six-piece band of Ireland’s finest musicians
Tickets €15

Thursday October 31
JAZZGate ‘Halloweekend’: Fancy Dress Jazz Party
feat. six-piece band of Ireland’s finest musicians;

Cathal Roche (saxophone/clarinet)
Matthew Berrill (saxophone/clarinet)
Colm O’ Hara (trombone)
Aengus Hackett (guitar)
Neil O’ Loclainn (bass)
Dan Walsh (drums)

Tickets €15

Friday October 25
Brazilian / Bossa Nova night
feat. special guest Mike Nielsen (guitar)

Thursday October 17
The Music of Naomi Berrill & Matthew Berrill
feat. special guest Naomi Berrill (vocals, cello)

September 28
The Music of Aengus Hackett!
A new trio performing brand-new compositions of mine,
feat. Derek Whyte (bass) and Matthew Jacobson (drums)

September 21
The Music of Wayne Shorter
featuring special guest Cathal Roche on saxophone

September 13
The Music of Aretha Franklin
featuring special guest Barbara Vulso on vocals


Summer season 2019:

Follow AENGUS: